

# Year 12 Awards Evening

# Thursday 23rd June 2022



A Celebration of Academic Excellence, Community & Culture



# Awards Evening Programme

# Welcome

# Performance

Nina Martin Scaramouche no.3 - Brazileira by Darius Milhaud

### **Celebration of the Academic Year**

Principal Christopher Atherton Sharon Fadipe-Davids

### **Awards Ceremony**

**Closing Address** David Charlton, Chair of Governors

#### Closing Thanks Junayd Malick

**Sharon Fadipe-Davids** The Sir John Brunner Foundation Prize

0

# Welcome from the Principal

On behalf of the Governors, Trustees, Senior Team and the community of Sir John Deane's Sixth Form College, I am delighted to welcome you to our annual evening of recognition and celebration.

The individuals we celebrate here tonight have all made a significant contribution to the life of the College. They have embraced the opportunities they have been given to excel academically, to enrich themselves and those around them and overcome personal challenge.

These award winners embody all that we cherish and hold dear. They are curious, caring and responsible in ways that humble us all.

I share your pride and delight in these wonderful young people and all they have accomplished.

With warmest wishes,

Christopher Atherton Principal





Malachi Atherton (Hadfield Award for Citizens of Change) and Nina Martin (Performer of the Year)

# Academic Excellence Awards

**Art Prize:** Sophia Zhang (*Altrincham GS for Girls*) Highly Commended: Harrison Quinn (*Eaton Bank Academy*)

**Photography Prize:** Sophie Whiteside (*Congleton High School*) Highly Commended: Lily Field (*Weaverham High School*)

**Textiles Prize:** Madeleine Benyon (Sandbach High School) Highly Commended: Niamh Peck (The Grange School)

**3D Design Prize:** Daniel Chalabi (*Altrincham GS for Boys*) Highly Commended: Evie Bradley (*Christleton High School*)

Music Prize: Joshua Evett (Eaton Bank Academy)

**Music Technology Prize:** Amalie Sanderson (*Altrincham GS for Girls*) Highly Commended: Alistair Newby (*The County High School, Leftwich*)

**Drama & Theatre Prize:** Charlotte Moyle (*Holmes Chapel Comprehensive School*) Highly Commended: Ryan Gibson (*Hartford CE High School*)

**Biology Prize:** Alisha Bushnell (*Lymm High School*), Olivia Fernando (*Holmes Chapel Comprehensive School*) Highly Commended: Ethan Sands (*Bridgewater High School*)

**Chemistry Prize:** Grace Roberts (*Hartford CE High School*), Sasha Preece (*Bishop Heber High School*) Highly Commended: Elinor Doherty (*Lymm High School*)

**Physics Prize:** Alexander Lavery (Sandymoor Ormiston Academy), James Lalkham (Congleton High School) Highly Commended: Evie Halsall (Tarporley High School)

**Electronics Prize:** Alex Hollies (*Sandymoor Ormiston Academy*) Highly Commended: Jose Martins Palma (*Bridgewater High School*)

**Computer Science Prize:** Thomas Stepien (*The County High School, Leftwich*) Highly Commended: Benjamin Rix (*Bridgewater High School*)

**Mathematics Prize:** Nicholas Ho (*Bridgewater High School*) Emma Sproston (*Biddulph High School*) Highly Commended: Isaac Chipperfield (*Holmes Chapel Comprehensive School*)

**Further Mathematics Prize:** Ellis Billington (Sandbach School) Highly Commended: Mark Liney (The Grange School)

**Mathematics Statistics Prize:** Lois Street (*The Grange School*) Highly Commended: Joshua Thomas (*The County High School, Leftwich*) **Economics Prize:** Annabel Ginders (Sandbach High School) Highly Commended: Lewis Stokes (Helsby High School)

**Geography Prize:** Adam Shaw (Helsby High School) Highly Commended: Naomi Rushton (Weaverham High School)

Law Prize: Joshua Handley (*Weaverham High School*) Highly Commended: Lauren Brayshaw (*Lymm High School*)

**History Prize:** Tom Hey (*Holmes Chapel Comprehensive School*) Mia Scattergood (*Bridgewater High School*) Highly Commended: Charlie Warburton (*Weaverham High Scool*)

**Government & Politics Prize:** Alexandra Rylands (*Helsby High School*) Highly Commended: Christin Sacharewicz (*Helsby High School*)

**Business Prize:** Alexander Causton (*The Grange School*) Highly Commended: Daisy Woodmansey (*The Grange School*)

#### **Special Vocation Prize:**

**Performing Arts:** Benjamin Mather-Dodd (*The Grange School*) **ICT:** Layton Brookes (*The County High School, Leftwich*) **Business:** Zak Dalton (*The County High School, Leftwich*) **Health & Social Care:** Keira McMahon (*Middlewich High School*) **Applied Science:** Jakub Karkos (*Middlewich High School*) **Sport:** Scott Norbury (*Weaverham High School*)

**Media Studies Prize:** Janey Cole (*Weaverham High School*) Highly Commended: Madeline Haddock (*Hartford CE High School*)

**Physical Education Prize:** Olivia Woodall (*Bridgewater High School*) Highly Commended: Lucy Galloway (*Bridgewater High School*)

**Sociology Prize:** Cassie Rushe (*The Grange School*) Highly Commended: Benjamin Seddon (*Hartford CE High School*)

**Psychology Prize:** Anya Smith (*The Bishops' Bluecoat High School* ) Emilia Allcroft (Wellington School) Highly Commended: Sebastian Taylor (*Bridgewater High School*)

**English Language Prize:** Ellie Vaughan (*Biddulph High School*) Highly Commended: John Bailey (*The Oaks Academy*) Highly Commended: Taylor Wells (*Bridgewater High School*)

**English Literature Prize:** Molly Fullerton (*Tarporley High School*) Highly Commended: Thomas Ahern (*Sandymoor Ormiston Acadmey*)

**Modern Languages Prize:** Mary Smith (*Hartford CE High School*) Highly Commended: William Lewis (*Sandbach School*)

# Excellence in Sports, Music & Performing Arts Awards

**Sports Personality of the Year** Abigayle Gentle (*Sandbach High School*)

**Football Prize, Player of the Year** Victor Iyumva (*St Nicholas RC High School*)

**Hockey Prize, Player of the Year** Myles Harrison-Stirling (*St Ambrose College*)

Netball Prize, Player of the Year Ellie Davies (*Tarporley High School*)

Rowing Prize, Rower of the Year Thomas Furlong (*Helsby High School*)

**Basketball Prize, Player of the Year** Zachary Williams (*Hartford CE High School*)

#### **Duke of Edinburgh's Award Prize** Roan Cornwell (*Weaverham High School*) Emma Parsons (*Rudheath Senior Academy*)

### The Hopkins Prize for Performer of the Year

Nina Martin (Hartford CE High School)

**The Young Prize for Most Significant Contribution to Music** Joshua Evett (*Eaton Bank Academy*)

# Contribution to Culture & Community Awards

**The Keeble Award for Contribution to a Culture of Diversity & Inclusion** Natalie Hider (*Loreto Convent Grammar School*) Rosebree Katticaren (*St Thomas More RC High School*) Charlie Bamber (*The Heath School*)

**The Hadfield Award for Citizens of Change** Malachi Atherton (*Bridgewater High School*) Wiktoria Maszorek (*The Heath School*)

The Finlow Award for Courage & Drive

Ollie Eastwood (Hartford CE High School) Anna Yevseyev (Hartford CE High School) Megan Darlington (The County High School, Leftwich) Evie Hall (The Winsford Academy)

**Spirit of Sir John Deane's Award for Contribution to College Life** Junayd Malick (*North Cestrian School*)

### The Sir John Brunner Foundation Award

Sharon Fadipe-Davids (Rudheath Senior Academy)



Sir John Deane's Sixth Form College, Northwich, Cheshire, CW9 8AF 01606 810020

🖸 SirJohnDeanes 🕆 SirJohnDeanes www.sjd.ac.uk