Student success celebrated at annual awards night

Sir John Deane’s Sixth Form College celebrated another year of success and marked the achievements of its Upper Sixth Students during an inspirational awards evening last week. 

Upper Sixth Awards Evening 2017

The annual awards evening, which brought together students, teachers and parents, took place at the college on Thursday, May 4th and featured 89 student award winners .

Prizes were given for academic excellence, excellence in sport, performing arts, personal achievement, student leadership and contribution to the college.

Head Boy Thomas Marquand, was presented with the prestigious Sanar Award for Student of the Year and closed the ceremony with an outstanding speech recognising fellow students, teachers and parents.

Kerry Kirkwood, Principal, said: “Individuals have excelled academically; some have exhibited impressive sporting prowess and endurance, whilst others have overcome personal challenges to become bolder and more resilient as a result.

“We celebrate the tremendous breadth and range of student achievement and we seek to recognise those individuals who have become role models and heroes.

“This evening is also an opportunity for us to thank parents, families and friends, whose love, faith and support underpins the success and achievements of all the winners this evening.”

Chair of Governors Trevor Rawling welcomed guests to the evening while guests were all treated to a stunning classical performance by  student Robyn Jones who sang Roger Quilter’s  Love’s Philosophy.




 You can view more photos from the evening over on our facebook page


Awards for Academic Excellence

Art Award: Molly Goulding (Weaverham High School) Highly Commended: Daniel Welch (King’s School Macclesfield)

Photography Award: Poppy Stachera (The County High School, Leftwich) Highly Commended: Thomas Mitchell (Weaverham High School)

Textiles Award: Rebecca Shiels (Holmes Chapel Comprehensive) Highly Commended: Eve Martin (Hartford High School)

3D Design Award: Alice Latham (Weaverham High School) Highly Commended: Jason Wong (Helsby High School)

Music Award: Seth Hamill (Lymm High School) Highly Commended: Claire Francis  (The County High School, Leftwich)

Music Technology Award: Alexander Thompson (The County High School, Leftwich) Highly Commended: Daniel Barford (St Nicholas R.C. High School)

Dance and Performing Arts Award: Helena Lomas (Sandbach High School) Highly Commended: Sophie Greaves-Brayne (Middlewich High School)

Theatre Studies Award: Alistair Rowley (Congleton High School) Highly Commended: Cerys Finnigan-Jones (The Whitby High School)

Biology and Applied Science Award: Sarah Longworth (Bridgewater High School) Highly Commended: Rosemary Gooda (The Queen’s School, Chester)

Chemistry Award: Tom Riley (Weaverham High School) Highly Commended: Jack Mansell (Knutsford Academy)

Physics and Electronics Award: Flynn Marshall (Bridgewater High School) Highly Commended: Oscar Ayress (The County High School, Leftwich)

Mathematics and Use of Mathematics Award: Charlotte Jones (Hartford High School) Highly Commended:Simon Goodby (Alsager School)

Further Mathematics Award: Dominic Green (Middlewich High School) Highly Commended: Harry Whittaker (Lymm High School)

Computer Science Award: Calum Johnston (Bridgewater High School) Highly Commended: Nicholas Asher (Lymm High School)

Information & Communications Technology Award: Lewis Whitham (Bridgewater High School) Highly Commended: Millie Berry (University of Chester Academy Northwich)

Physical Education Award: Sarah Worsdale (Hartford High School) Highly Commended: Daniel Carroll (Middlewich High School)

Geography Award: Nathan Hawley (Holmes Chapel Comprehensive) Highly Commended: Katie Lambert (Helsby High School)

Travel and Tourism Award: Ellie Bishop (University of Chester Academy Northwich) Highly Commended: Jonathon Houghton (Hartford High School)

Government and Politics Award: Alastair Bailey (Bridgewater High School) Highly Commended: Jenny Croall (Holmes Chapel Comprehensive)

History Award: Jack Tolley (County High School, Leftwich) Highly Commended: Rebecca Cowie (Cransley School)

Economics Award: Peter Wong (County High School, Leftwich) Highly Commended: Abbie Lewelyn (Bridgewater High School)

Sociology Award: April Mushing (The Grange School) Highly Commended: James Webster (Bridgewater High School)

Psychology Award: Alicia Daly (Knutsford Academy) Highly Commended: Michael Landon (Weaverham High School)

Health and Social Care Award:  Abbey Calland(Hartford High School) Highly Commended: Chloe Dooley  (The County High School, Leftwich)

Media Studies Award: Eleanor Lightfoot (Middlewich High School) Highly Commended: Cameron Chadwick (The County High School, Leftwich)

Film Studies Award: Taylor Hamnett (University of Chester Academy)Highly Commended: Samuel Anderson (Royal Ballet School)

Special Vocation Award:Rebekah Knight for BTEC Science (Cransley School Highly Commended: Amy Ashbrook for Business Studies (Middlewich High School)

Applied Business Studies Award: Rebecca Bolshaw (County High School, Leftwich) Highly Commended: Matthew Talbot (County High School, Leftwich)

Business Studies Award: Shruti Sivakumar (Hartford High School) Highly Commended: Ben Gow (Bridgewater High School)

Law Award: Hannah Roberts (Eaton Bank High School) Highly Commended: Emily Falzon (The County High School, Leftwich)

English Language Award: Lauren Robinson (The County High School, Leftwich) Highly Commended: Charlotte Evans  (The Queen’s School, Chester)

English Literature Award: Francesca Hodgson (Holmes Chapel Comprehensive) Highly Commended: Louis Bullen (Hartford High School)

Modern Foreign Languages Award: Madeleine Lumley (Lymm High School) Highly Commended: Sarah Jackson (Bridgewater High School)


Excellence in Sports Awards

Sports Personality of the Year Beth Willford-Dutton (Sandbach High School)

Football Prize, Player of the Year Samuel Hatcher (Weaverham High School)

Rugby Prize, Player of the Year Patrick Jennings (St Ambrose College)

Men’s Hockey, Player of the Year Daniel Pickering (Bridgewater High School)

Women’s Hockey, Player of the Year Megan Jay (Ballakermeen High School, Isle of Man)

Netball Prize, Player of the Year Zoe Copnall (Weaverham High School)

Rowing Prize, Rower of the Year Callum Roberts (Hartford High School)


Special Awards

John Brunner Prize, Contribution to the Community Jessica Pearce (The County High School, Leftwich)

Deane Prize, Contribution to College Courtney Roberts (The Hammond School) Highly Commended: Natalie Lewis (The Queen’s School, Chester)

Wittonian Prize for Outstanding Student Leadership Ella Urwin (Bridgewater High School)

Patrick Milne (St Nicholas R.C. High School)

Governor Contribution Prize Samuel Dodgshon (The County High School, Leftwich)

Keeble Prize, Academic Progress Emily Hopkins (Helsby High School)

Hopkins Prize, Performer of the Year Robyn Jones (Abbey Gate College) Highly Commended: Marcus Reynolds (Bishops’ Bluecoat C of E High School)

Young Prize, Contribution to Music Amy Grierson (Middlewich High School) Highly Commended: Thomas Rocke (The County High School, Leftwich)

The Elliot Prize for Contribution to Performing Arts Caitlin Kinsey (Beaumont Collegiate)

Albright Prize, Personal Achievement Emily Sykes (The Queen’s School, Chester) Highly Commended: Lauren Eden (Sir William Stanier High School) Alex Xu (County High School, Leftwich)

Sanar Award Thomas Marquand (St Nicholas R.C. High School)