The Maple Group

Sir John Deane’s College is proud to be one of 11 of the country’s leading sixth form colleges who are members of the Maple Group – a powerful national partnership to promote outstanding teaching for young people.

The Maple Group

Collectively Maple Group makes a major contribution to the nation’s economy with a combined enrolment of well over 20,000 youngsters. In excess of 80% of students from our colleges will progress in to Higher Education, around a third of whom will accept places in the UK’s leading Russell Group universities.

The group was launched in 2013 and represents England’s most successful providers of post-16 education.

For more information on the work of The Maple Group, please go to:

“We are proud to be a founder member of Maple Group with the opportunity to work with other beacon colleges across the country to ensure we champion the importance of delivering outstanding teaching for our young people.”
Kerry Kirkwood, Principal of SJD

“Maple Group member colleges are a trusted group, widely acknowledged by students, parents, teachers, universities and ministers as being amongst the very best, indeed as world class providers. Maple Group colleges have an unrivalled lengthy track record of high performance, respected for innovation, creativity and leading the development of post-16 pedagogy.

“We are beacons of excellence in the country, sharing a passion for learning and an undiluted vision of what constitutes an outstanding education.”
Chair of the Maple Group, Simon Jarvis, Principal of The Sixth Form College, Farnborough

Members of The Maple Group are:

  • Cardinal Newman College, Preston
  • Carmel College, St Helens
  • Greenhead College, Huddersfield
  • Hills Road Sixth Form College, Cambridge
  • Holy Cross College, Bury
  • King Edward VI College, Stourbridge
  • Peter Symonds College, Winchester
  • Sir John Deane’s College, Northwich
  • St Dominic’s Sixth Form College, Harrow
  • The Sixth Form College, Farnborough
  • Winstanley College, Wigan